Fort Halifax Park Today
This scenic 172-ac. Township park is located off PA Rt, 147 1/10 mile north of Halifax, PA along the Susquehanna River at the confluence of Armstrong Creek. The Park is the site of ongoing archaeological efforts to locate historic Ft. Halifax constructed on the site in 1756 as part of a chain of Pennsylvania forts to protect Borderland settlers from raiding French and Indian war parties.
With picnicking areas, access to Armstrong Creek for wading, the Susquehanna for kayaking, canoeing and fishing, picturesque hiking trails, historic farm buildings, and acres of pristine open fields and woodlands, it's an ideal place for family outings and where visitors can simply "get away from it all." Also, family and group camping, hiking, bird watching, and exciting planned events throughout the year including the annual Ft. Halifax Festival, the 1st Saturday in May, provide something of interest for almost everyone.
Fort Halifax History
Fort Halifax, one of a line of fortifications erected by the Provincial government along the Susquehanna River in 1756, located about a half mile north of Halifax Borough, was built by Colonel William Clapham. He had 200 logs squared and cut 30 feet in length and preceded to have the fort built in two weeks "under guard of an officer and thirty men." It was a 160 feet square log stockade with four bastions and was an earthwork about 10 feet high surrounded by a ditch of equal depth. The fort was a sub post of Fort Augusta (at Sunbury), which was the largest of the Provincial forts. Fort Halifax was dismantled in 1757 and its garrison moved to Fort Hunter.
A stone monument marking the site of this colonial fort along PA Route 147 just north of Halifax was erected in 1926. The area of the former fort is now part of the Halifax Township Park and Conservation area, which consists of 174 acres that is to be developed into a historical, passive recreation park.
The Wiconisco Canal is regarded as one of the least documented canals in Pennsylvania, the Canal provided the transportation of one of Pennsylvania's most necessary commodities, anthracite coal. It ran from Millersburg for 15 miles past Halifax to Clarks Ferry Bridge where it connected with the Pennsylvania Canal. Once the coal reached the Pennsylvania Canal it was transported to other parts of the state. More information about the Wiconisco Canal can be found on Wikipedia, by clicking here.
At the request of President William G. Harding Sycamore Trees were planted in April 1922 to commemorate the Veterans that fought in World Ware I. Today the 361 trees that are still standing mark the largest strand of trees from this movement known to exist on the east coast. Raising community awareness of these living memorials will help preserve every one of the remaining sycamore trees. On February 7, 2007, the Sycamore Allee in Halifax and Reed Townships was entered in the National Register of Historic Places, the official list of our Nation's historic places worthy of preservation. The award states, "... These places contribute to our understanding of the historical and cultural foundations of the United States."